Which California Legislative Process Rules Can Be Waived or Suspended?
Which California Legislative Process Rules Can Be Waived or Suspended? By Chris Micheli
While the Joint and individual house Rules in the California Legislature can be waived or suspended, what about the constitutional procedural rules that comprise the California legislative process? Can they be waived or suspended? The following chart sets forth several of the procedural rules and whether (and by what means) they can or cannot be waived or suspended:
|
Procedural Rule |
Waiver or
Suspension Permitted |
|
At regular
sessions no bill other than the budget bill may be heard or acted on by
committee or either house until the 31st day. (30-day in Print Rule) |
¾ vote of the
house(s) |
|
No bill may be
passed unless it is read by title on 3 days in each house. (3 Readings Rule) |
2/3 vote of the
house(s) |
|
No bill may be
passed or ultimately become a statute unless the bill with any amendments has
been printed, distributed to the members, and published on the Internet, in
its final form, for at least 72 hours before the vote. (72-hour in Print
Rule) |
Governor’s
written request and 2/3 vote of both houses |
|
A statute shall
embrace but one subject, which shall be expressed in its title. (Single
Subject Rule) |
No |
|
A section of a
statute may not be amended unless the section is re-enacted as amended.
(Reenactment Rule) |
No |
|
A statute
enacted at a regular session shall go into effect on January 1 next following
a 90-day period from the date of enactment of the statute. (January 1
Effective Date Rule) |
No |
|
A statute enacted
at a special session shall go into effect on the 91st day after adjournment
of the special session at which the bill was passed. (91st Day
Rule) |
No |
|
Any bill
introduced during the first year of the biennium of the legislative session
that has not been passed by the house of origin by January 31 of the second
calendar year of the biennium may no longer be acted on by the house. (2-year
Bill Rule) |
No |
|
The Legislature
may not present any bill to the Governor after November 15 of the second
calendar year of the biennium of the legislative session. (November 15 Rule) |
No |
Comments
Post a Comment